obvious librarian

Everything seems rather obvious to me anymore. Almost every book or article I read states an obvious conclusion or fact.  So, why restate the obvious? It’s obvious to me. Isn’t it obvious to everyone?

Like Outliers: The story of success. I recently read it. I could have read it sooner, if I bought a copy, but several libraries I have access to own it. I wanted to save money by not buying it. But the danged book was circulating so much, so often, that I had to wait nine long months to read it.

But what did I think after finishing it?

So. Obvious. Success is about working hard, practicing, spending hours building your skills and then applying them. Some people are more advantaged than others. Success comes from who you know and what opportunities you are given.

Ain’t that obvious?

And yet. One of the things I really liked about Outliers is that it demystified success, to an extent. It democratized success. We can all be successful. Just be in the right place at the right time. Work hard. Practice harder. Be open to networking opportunities. One major theme of the book was being born in the right generation: Either the gilded age or the computer age, the 1830s or the 1950s. Guess there’s no recourse for the rest of us who were born at the wrong time.

I forget about riding high in my ivory tower. All my book learning. Maybe it’s not obvious to others.

But it also works another way. Like, the fact that LJ didn’t want my piece on positive psychology in the library because they felt like my ideas were obvious, or not timely enough:

Though well written and thought out, from our experience, at least, many librarians are already putting the bulk of these suggestions to practice.

Hunh. How do you know what many librarians are doing? Is it THAT obvious? Was there a poll?

Yeah, well, my personal experience as a library user decries that my suggestions were not so obvious. Obviously they aren’t being implemented at such a level that stories rear up like crop circles in the night. It’s merely an assumption that libraries have adopted and adapted the suggestions for obvious improvement that I offered.

The annoyed librarian wrote:

I don’t see that libraries have changed that much. They seem to offer the same services as always, some familiar ones in new guises, and some new ones that are already popular with masses of people. This is hardly revolutionary.

Maybe that’s what I tried to do. Dress up old services in new guises.

A pig in lipstick.

How is it that you start with a plan and then end up someplace else completely? That’s what happened with this post. My ramblings about what is and is not obvious segued into a rant about my disappointment about not easily getting published by LJ.

Such a baby. Lemme go have a quick cry in a corner or something. Call me the sobbing librarian. I’m not that choked up about it. More like ticked off. Perturbed. Unamused.

Isn’t it obvious?

Leave a Reply

