unhappy librarian

Isn’t it dreadful when editors are just not into your article? That was the case with my article on happiness in the library. My thesis was that there are several things that library staff can and should do to positively affect their patron’s happiness.

I know. It’s just one more thing to add to the surmounting tasks that librarians struggle under. Reminds me of that fella with the rock. Sisyphus.

But still, I was excited about it because I’d spent so much time reading about happiness and how to increase it in our lives. I pitched it to AL and LJ, but they passed. I suppose it’s okay. I’ll get over it. I’m over it.

In fact, I’m rethinking my whole happiness philosophy as it relates to librarianship. I’m looking forward to reading Barbara Ehrenreich’s Bright-Sided. It’s subtitle says it all: How the relentless promotion of positive thinking has undermined America.

2 thoughts on “unhappy librarian

Leave a Reply

