trendspotting librarian

To follow up on the typewriter fad, because I must keep stroking this one a bit, my Omnivoracious daily Digest broadcast the typewriter trend to the masses and shared more links.

Flavorwire features a parade of photos and accompanying text of famous writers and their typewriters. After all, what is sexier than someone hunched over a typewriter? Someone hunched over a toilet, perhaps? Just saying. The image of Agatha Christie was most inspiring. Without knowing anything of her life, seeing her perched at a spindly table, in a pristine room spread a smile across my face.

Writers working. What better to warm a librarian’s heart on a cool Wednesday morning in April?

Anyway.

Then there was this bit about how the Typescreen turns your iPad into a typewriter. Ho. Hum. Seriously. Technology as a work-around to the old-fashioned thing-a-ma-bob?

I’m grouchy. Yesterday the LJXpress shot through my inbox and after a glance it went into my deleted items. Inside an item called Collection Development: The Rise of the Locavore captured my attention. So yeah, it’s great and all, a bibliographic list of locavore resources. The trouble is that I could and should have written it. But I didn’t. I’m a foodie. I’ve blogged about food since 2004. But my past experience in bridging my personal interests with my professional librarian interests and parlaying them into some type of bibliographic publication hasn’t always met with success.

My timing is off. That must be it. Sometimes I’m prescient. Sometimes I’m much too ahead of things. And then other times, I discount myself, or my ideas and undervalue them, discount them by believing that nobody would find them at all interesting or compelling. Perhaps that is the real issue. Then I fail to act on them and see something that I could have written, should have written, and then I constantly kick myself.

Kick. Kick. Kick.

It’s a terrible feeling.

On the other hand, what really bothers me is this professional jealously that I feel when librarians with established platforms or columns make statements about trends in librarianship or some such that I could just have easily have made. Yet, they get the pats on the back, or the kudos because they have the cred and I don’t. They aren’t all that. They’re saying the same things the rest of us in the trenches are, but because their mouths are more public, they’re touted as experts and credited as originators and innovators when actually, they’re only part of a groundswell of opinion.

Burns. Me. Up.

Wednesdays must be for ranting and humping in a vacuum.

Leave a comment