ss librarian

SS= super sport if you are a child of the seventies as am I and recall all those souped up cars going vrrrrrrrroooom…..vrrrrrrrrrooooooom on Charlie’s Angels, Starsky & Hutch, and CHiPS or in your government housing development (and I can say that because I grew up in one plus my uncle had a souped up orange Gremlin).

Or super sexy.

Or secret service.

As someone who loves subterfuge, I love to keep readers guessing, but in this case it’s merely a method to sustain suspense.

I learned late last month that May is National Short Story Month.

Who knew? Not I, and I thought I was up on all those months that celebrate variations of the written word such as April’s National Poetry Month and March’s celebration of Dr. Seuss’s Birthday and National Novel Writing Month in November. And surely there are many others that slipped my mind so easily. Check out this resources of Top Ten Short Stories if none pop into your mind.

We proudly extruded products of America’s public school systems sunk our eye-teeth into a fair amount of short stories, but I never voluntarily read many until the thought entered my head that I might want to write, or learn to write creatively. So, I took a few classes and studied with at least one successful writer, Tayari Jones, and she introduced me to the practice of reading–and writing–short stories.

I grew to like reading them. Now I buy short story collections and check them out from libraries as well. Sometimes I request them via ILL, too. Things drift through the ether for I cannot recall how I learned of Elaine Klages and decided to read Portable Childhoods.

Klages’s stories are quirky, most protagonists are girls, lesbians make frequent appearances. I dig all those things. There was time travel too. Oh how I LOVE time travel. All in all a fabulous read until I arrive at the last story, “In the House of the Seven Librarians,” which obviously tickled me pink. And as far as colors go I mostly loathe pink. But in this case, being tickled pink was a good thing.

So to belatedly celebrate National Short Story Month on this library-themed blog, I’m pointing your attention, dear reader, to a short story featuring librarians.

Here’s a synopsis:

The Carnegie Library is abandoned for a newer more modern and technologically wired structure across town. It’s boarded up, but unbeknownst to the town, seven librarians remain and live inside. One morning a librarian answers a knock at the door and finds an abandoned newborn child. So the librarians raise the child, but mostly turn her over to the children’s librarian. Whenever there’s a need for anything, the library manifests the item, magically. Imagine being “library-schooled” by 7 librarians–they’re all female, by the way. And then Dinsy grows up. Do read the story to discover whether she joins the librarians in their stewardship of the library or whether she leaves the library to discover the world outside its doors.

Leave a Reply

