personal ad librarian

I’m playing with the direction this blog is taking. I’d like to do life coaching for librarians, (or R&D).  As if librarians even need such an animal. Maybe we do. Our profession suffers from many insecurities. My recent interest, other than neurochemistry and early childhood development–for obvious reasons–is the intersection of psychology and economics.

Then, also, positive psychology. The psychological aspects of librarianship are under-researched, really. And since I’m more interested in people than in institutions, well, it seems natural that I’d be drawn in this direction.

Similarly, creativity and innovation float my boat big time. I dreamed of a job in R&D, but that isn’t available hereabouts. No big bee hive of innovation in East Tennessee, lemme tell you. Sad, sad, sad.

One of the blogs/ideas I’ve stumbled upon is Havi Brooks’ Fluent Self. She’s a life coach. Sorta. She calls herself a “habits teacher.”

A recent exercise had her write and post a personal ad to the universe, and it worked. I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that she’s based in Portland (OR, not ME). Good things happen in Portland. But maybe they don’t in East Tennessee. But is that attitude holding all the good things back? Maybe.

Brooks created a personal ad for a new house. Then a dentist. And then some other things. The universe listened, and connected her with just what she asked for.

But I want a new job. It doesn’t have to be in a library, either. My heart is in libraries, but they leave me feeling constrained, as though I’m not helping/serving as many people as I could. As I should. I could do more. That’s the trouble with my current position: I feel helpless, useless, ineffective. It does bad things to the psyche.


Curious, creative, socially intelligent librarian with an unquenched love of learning seeks position in adacemia, business, or non-profit
.

Location: East Tennessee, or quarterly-to-monthly commute to southeast or other region.

Pay: $65K+ per year plus benefits including 401K, annual leave, sick leave, professional leave. Health care isn’t a biggie, as I’m covered under my spouse’s plan.

The adjectives: Thorough, tenacious, inspirational, thoughtful, compassionate, dependable, reliable, innovative.

My colleagues appreciate all the opportunities for publications and presentations that I share with them. I encourage them to network and push their ideas to broader audiences.

I tweak ideas/projects to conform to odious grant guidelines like nobody’s business and have years of experience in research, writing, and editing.

After talking to someone for a few minutes, I can find common ground with ninety percent of people I meet.

I follow up on tricky reference questions until they are solved, which may take as little as five minutes or two weeks.

I show compassion for my colleagues. I send hand-written condolences to their homes when a loved one dies and congratulations when they are in order. When they are immobile, I chauffeur them to physical therapy and shopping. I photograph their elopements and serve as a witness on their marriage license. I feed, pet, and check on their animals while they are out of town. I agree to check on an elderly mother in an assisted living facility and serve as a contact person for my colleague who lives 45 minutes away from her mother.

On the flip side, if this makes me sound too much like a library saint, I’m not. I have a wicked sense of humor, enjoy random practical jokes in the workplace, and am in touch with my dark side. I’m not so much a team player. Most of my callaborative experiences were painful, but I keep hoping for something better. I prefer to take the risks, do it all myself, and then accept the blame or the praise. Hey, I’m Generation X. I don’t like group work. It’s all about balance, but I keep the negative aspects of my thoughts for expression at home for the most part.

If you like what you read and believe I’m a good fit with your organization, then contact me via email at: adjlibrarian@gmail.com

Curious, creative, socially intelligent librarian with an unquenched love of learning seeks position in adacemia, business, or non-profit.
Location: East Tennessee, or quarterly-to-monthly commute to southeast or other region.
Pay: $65K+ per year plus benefits including 401K, annual leave, sick leave, professional leave. Health care isn’t a biggie, as I’m covered under my spouse’s plan.
The adjectives: Thorough, tenacious, inspirational, thoughtful, compassionate, dependeable, reliable, innovative.
My colleagues appreciate all the opportunities for publications and presenatations that I share with them. I encourage them to network and push their ideas to broader audiences.
I tweak ideas/projects to conform to odious grant guidelines like nobody’s business and have years of experience in research, writing, and editing. After talking to someone for a few minutes, I can find common ground with ninety percent of people I meet.
I follow up on tricky reference questions until they are solved, which may take as little as five minutes or two weeks.
I show compassion for my colleagues. I send hand-written condolences to their homes when a loved one dies and congratulations when they are in order. When they are imobile, I help them out by chauffering them around to physical theraphy and shopping. I act as a photographer at their elopments and serve as a witness on their marriage license. I feed, pet, and check on their animals while they are out of town. I agree to check on an elderly mother in an assisted living facitlity for a contact person for my colleague who lives 45 minutes away.
On the flip side, if this makes me sound too much like a library saint, I’m not. I have a wicked sense of humor, enjoy random practical jokes in the workplace, and am in touch with my dark side.
If you like what you read, then contact me via email at adjlibrarian@gmail.com
Leave a Reply

